Our heritage

Where does the European hedge fund industry choose to celebrate its successes and achievements? The EuroHedge Awards.

Over the past two decades, the event has grown to become a hotly anticipated date in the calendar. In many ways, the awards mirror the changing fortunes, environments, and moods of the hedge fund community – serving as a barometer of ever-evolving sentiment, trends, and issues.

Since the very first EuroHedge Awards in 2001, the event has taken place every year in London (with the exception of 2021), growing a reputation as the Oscars of the industry. There is a reason for this success: ours are the only awards judged solely on a transparent and objective quantitative methodology that focuses on risk-adjusted returns.

From the Awards' Roll of Honor, it is clear how consistently successful the brand-name players have been. In an industry that prizes long-term performance, we can think of no better testament.

A new format for 2020

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, we celebrated the 20th anniversary of the Awards virtually. Despite the restrictions, we were determined to still reward those hedge funds leading the way in a tough market, and bring the industry together to celebrate, connect and network.

“After such a strong 2019, returns in the first quarter disappointed last year. The virus upset investor confidence and sparked the quickest bear market on record in March, catching out many funds. But the ensuing months saw a comeback as markets were boosted by efforts to contain the virus, together with fiscal and monetary support packages. Trades put down during the chaos of Q1 bore fruit.” – Will Wainewright, Editor of Eurohedge

Andurand Capital was named Fund of the Year while Caxton Associates scooped Management Firm of the Year. Aspect Capital, the London-based managed futures firm, won the inaugural Diversity Prize, introduced to recognise and encourage greater diversity and inclusion efforts within the industry.

An esteemed list of winners


  Management Firm of the Year Fund of the Year
2001 Gartmore Lazard European Technology
2002 GLG Henderson European
2003 Vega Sloane Robinson International
2004 BlueCrest/Cheyne The Children's Investment Fund
2005 Lansdowne The Children's Investment Fund
2006 RAB Capital Parvus European Opportunities
2007 Sloane Robinson GLG Emerging Markets
2008 BlueCrest Brevan Howard
2009 BlueCrest Jabcap Multi-Strategy
2010 BlueCrest CQS Directional Opportunities
2011 Marshall Wace Brevan Howard
2012 Cheyne CQS Directional Opportunities
2013 Jabre Capital The Children's Investment Fund
2014 Chenavari Man AHL
2015 Lansdowne BlackRock European
2016 Cheyne CQS Directional Opportunities
2017 Pharo/Sloane Robinson Kairos Pegasus
2018 Selwood Asset Management Gladstone Lasker
2019 Cheyne Capital Management The Children's Investment Fund
2020 Caxton Associates Andurand Capital